The Day

Dated: March 20, 2006

Now many of us do have days, that we believe couldnt get wierder. And this blog is the description of one of those days. I dont know the other two guys who were also involved in are gonna try and blog it out. But as all of us promised, I am gonna complete my end of the bargain.
When we started on a journey back home from our college (Allahabad), we never would have imagined what was in store for us. Just three days back, I had had the first attack of Asthma (which is now confirmed). So, we had taken every precaution needed for a sound and troubleless journey. We started off as usual, late again, and everybody scamperring to reach the station in time; grabbed ourselves food and boarded the train which was thankfully a half an hour late.

The journey began, and so did the ecstasy and joy in every ones face of the homecoming. The plan was three of us (Sumiran, me and pooja) were flying from the border town of bhairahawa to reach the capital of our country and our home. Others were to take either a micro or a bus to the same destination. The Chauri-Chaura Express, arrived at Gorakhpur at 8:00 am IST and we hurried and got ourselves a jeep and in two hours reached Bhairahawa.

At this point, I think I should frankly state that there had never been a greater urge in me to reach home this time around. Perhaps aggrtevated by the fact that I was sick, or perhaps may be a littile scared, for the first timein my life I had really missed my family and really wanted to be in the shelter of my own roof. On top of that the doctor, I had consulted at Allahabad had injected me 9 times in my butt without letting me know what was there in the syringe.

When we reached Bhairahawa, Raghu (Raghvendra) thought the journey was not getting any fun because the other guys had decided to board a public vehichle and not reserve one. So. he decided to fly with us instead. He was in for some fun later as it turned out. All the three of us managed to get tickets on a tight day. Pooja, who was also flying had her ticket already booked and grabbed her ticket from a office at Milan Chowk. Pooja was a little late for her flight, so we drove up to the airport as fast as we could. Buddha Air, the one which pooja was boarding had already called its passengers for check in. She checked in and in a short while, flew away to KTM. We, whereas waited in patience only to listen to the announcement that a technical fault had forced the flight to get cancelled after an hour’s delay. There was panic at the Airport. A business man with a connecting flight from ktm in the evening. A loud guy who was shouting at the administration demanding something, I think he was aslo not sure of. Two gals who kept on talking on the phone playin on my nerves telling their realtives the flight was cancelled. And sumiran, shouting along with the loud guy. Raghu as usual quite, And I not sure what to do.

So, to get a clear perspective, we went to the manager and asked him straight the possiblitiy of managing three seats in other flights. When the response was not very encouraging, we decided, probably due to the urge of that home coming I talked about earlier to get a car and rush to ktm. So we did, we rented a car in 5500. At 3:00 pm, we were still at Butwal, so at best we could arrive ktm at 9. Dad called in and urged to stay at bro’s place which was probably sensible. We declined and went on with the journey. Mote met up at Narayan-Gadh. Probably worried about his brothers’ symptoms of Asthma, he pulled few tricks to make me stay there, but i was unaltered with my decision. At 7:30 pm, we reached Malekhu and had our dinner. We were served hot and I thought how long had it been that i had eaten meal straight out of the kitchen. The food was good, the feeling was good and so had the journey till then. Who knew what was in store?

As we climbed up the hills surrounding the capital, we were stopped at various check points. I looked at the army whose job should have been somewhere in the border protecting, but the dilemma of the country had made them guard one eastablishment against the other inside the country and still unfortunate, they could not trust their own countrymen. So, they kept on asking what we did, where we were coming from. One of them said, “Yes we do need engineers. See, all the roads have been swept away by the rains.” He wished us best of luck. I thought of doing the same, then i thought even if i wished him luck, he would probably end up killing a fellow nepali and saving his own life.

Deep in the thought of the country’s scenario, I didnt see the long line of motor cars until we were very near. Something had gone wrong. Immediately, I remembered the shop owner describing an accident that killed a 20 odd people. God! how many ways people in this country have for loosing their lives. Then, somebody, whom I assume knew our driver, came upto us and told that an indian truck slipped and it lies horizontally in the road. Hence blocking both ways traffic. I thanked the God, and wished that the mess would be cleared soon. But, when we reached the site, we realized it would atleast take an hour to fix.

After some brave work of a nepali driver the truck was pulled over to one side of the road. And, as we were getting in to get going, our driver couldnt start the car. It sounded like the battery had failed to charge and there was no battery left to spark the gaseous mixture inside the piston. So, we were now left with a car with no head light and an engine that would only start if the car was pushed. We started moving slowly cleverly putting a bus or a truck infront of us and quitely following its trail. I, or as the matter of fact any one of us, dont think can describe what was going on inside us. Sumiran was visibly most scared. But, I can tell you each one of us were equally scared if not more than him.

At, 12:45 am, I and Raghu reached my place after dropping sumiran to his place. I hadnt been so relieved in my life when I met mom and pops. Then, I realized Life is precious. And I fell in love with my life. That was the day.

Leave a Reply

